Twilight – sidetracked

While Kristen Stewart talks about how Twilight is such an amazing thing because it brings people – so many people – together on a common ground, and it’s like we’re all part of the saga in a way, sweet Mr. Pattinson suggests that “twilight fans are literally on the verge of being clinically insane.” None of them are wrong though, it is a powerful thing, and I’m not lying when I say I do feel like I’m part of it, even though my face isn’t in the movie and my name isn’t on the list of acknowledgements at the end of any of the books. You see, that’s the power of a good book. You read it, love it, and feel like you’re part of it. When the book is being made into a movie, you care, because it’s become something near and dear to you. When Bella is about to be cast, you care, cause most of us (girls) see the world through Bella’s eyes, and for the purpose of the journey, we become Bella. It is a very odd position to be in, and it’s not surprising it’s been such a big hit and sucked so many people right in. Nor is it surprising it’s been such a controversial phenomenon. Few phenomenons come without any form of controversy, and it would be scary if it didn’t. Imagine living in a world where everyone would be on the same side of a phenomenon. Everybody liked and disliked the same things. No only would it be less fun, it would be scary. I’m not trying to defend haters, they’re just trolling, but everybody is entitled to their own opinion. I am allowed to love the Twilight Saga just as much as you are entitled to hate Lutefisk.

However, there are some things that I can’t even justifiably express my frustration about. People: Actors are people too. Just because they aren’t real to you, that doesn’t mean they aren’t real. There are many too many trolls out there, and it makes me genuinely sad to admit I’m one too. I can’t put my hand on my heart and say I’ve never said anything stupid or wrong about someone, thinking they won’t hear it anyway. We shouldn’t care so much about who’s going to hear what we say. If we think it could be damaging if the wrong person heard it, we shouldn’t say it at all. It’s okay if your favorite didn’t walk away with the Academy Award, it’s okay if you didn’t care for the latest song of some charting artist, but that’s business. Attacking the person is a completely different matter altogether, and I think we should all just stop.

There’s a lot of bad things going on in the world today, but the change has to start with me and you. We can’t change the world until we start with the (woman/) man in the mirror. I can work on my reaction when someone tells me they don’t like something I love, but we need to be careful. Strong language doesn’t have to be profanity to be hurtful and pry like daggers. I’m not sure what I intended for this post to hold, but it sure wasn’t supposed to be this political. I’m not saying we should pull out the cane for whenever someone says anything harsh, but I’m saying be careful using those words in regards to other people. If you know how much words can hurt, you’re far from the only one.

We need to be good to other people, not because we’re looking for rewards, but because it’s right, and because it makes us and others feel good.

So, when all that is said and done, let’s backtrack to the time we were actually speaking of twilight. This is a really cool interview, for those who are interested, featuring Bill Condon, Robert Pattinson, Kristen Stewart and Taylor Lautner (it’s also where the quotes in the first paragraph came from):

http://www.hypable.com/twilight/2011/11/06/video-rob-pattinson-kristen-stewart-taylor-lautner-panel-at-yesterdays-twilight-convention/

And here is a list of the songs and artists featured on the Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1 (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack). The final three tracks are from the Deluxe Edition. I know this is old news, but I just bought the album today, and wanted to express my love for the record by sharing this beautiful list with you.

1. Endtapes – By The Joy Formidable
2. Love Will Take You – By Angus & Julia Stone
3. It Will Rain – By Bruno Mars
4. Turning Page – By Sleeping At Last
5. From Now On – By The Features
6. A Thousand Years – By Christina Perri
7. Neighbors – By Theophilus London
8. I Didn’t Mean It – By The Belle Brigade
9. Sister Rosetta – By Noisettes (2011 Version)
10. Northern Lights – By Cider Sky
11. Flightless Bird, American Mouth – By Iron & Wine (Wedding Version)
12. Requiem On Water – By Imperial Mammoth
13. Cold – By Aqualung & Lucy Schwartz
14. Llovera – By Mia Maestro
15. Love Death Birth – By Carter Burwell
____
16. Like a Drug (Bonus Track) – By Hard-Fi
17. Turning Page (Instrumental) – By Sleeping At Last
18. Eclipse (All Yours) [Bonus Track] – By Kevin Teasley

I have to say I think it is so incredibly awesomely sweet that the track “Flightless Bird, American Mouth”, which was featured in the prom scene of Twilight, has now returned to be featured in the Wedding Scene of Breaking Dawn Part 1. Something about that just calls out Full Circle to me. “Eclipse (All Yours)” is also back, previously performed by Metric, now an instrumental featuring piano and cello. I haven’t figured out where in the movie they will for a fact play this track, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it was in the credits. It’s a little too sweet.

So there you have it, some ranting about being good and some twilight trivia. Hope you liked it, but if not, that is totally fine too. My words can take the critique you have for them, but please don’t make it personal. I’m not sure I would be able to deal with that.

Btw, does this count on my #NaNoWriMo #wordcount?
No?
Too bad.

One thought on “Twilight – sidetracked

Leave a Reply

